HTML 5.0


HTML 5.0 is the latest upgraded version of what is known as the language of the web, HTML (HyperText Markup Language).

For those of you who are interested in learning HTML 5.0, you should have no issues learning this if you know HTML 4.0. Go to educator.com where I spent  the last 6 weeks teaching this before a camera. I’ve created several instructional videos that will make you an expert.

The one thing I must warn you about HTML 5, is that unlike HTML 4, is not as straight forward as it seems.
The creators of HTML 5.0 seemingly wants to integrate Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) and Javascript.
I was stunned that attribute Tags such as ‘cellpadding’ and ‘cellspacing’ has been removed. Instead the one must resort to using CSS to control the thickness of tables.  I personally did not like that.

I also found far too many tags that do the same thing, especially in text. There are several tags  that italicize a word.
<EM> Does the </EM>   <DFN> same </DFN>    <VAR> thing </VAR> add this together and it comes out to Does the same thing.
I prefer <I> which stands for Italics…easy enough.

May of the tags appear to exist as to replace ‘comments’.

For instance there is the <article> tag used to let the browser know that an article is to be created here.
You can do the same thing with <P> the paragraph tag, but it’s more clear to the programmer what the intention of the body of texts is.  I suppose there is nothing wrong with that, since one of the most important things on web development is communication within coding, or letting the programmers know the intention of a part of the webpage.

Now there are some things in HTML 5.0 I do like. I think the < VIDEO> and <AUDIO> tags are a great idea since it defeats the need to upload video to YouTube. The <VIDEO> tag can create controls (play/pause) and play the video well. I think the <CAPTION> tag is great and most needed to allow captions to appear under(or over) tables and images.

While the tags may have changed somewhat, the ultimate decider will be the browsers themselves. I found that the browsers will support HTML 5, but not ready to give up on HTML 4. I don’t see that happening. I experimented and found that a combination of HTML 5 and HTML 4 works well in the browsers.

Happy coding!

Jim Hague
http://www.crystaldi.com
http://www.webtipstv.com

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

